top of page

Masking Your Truth





Masking all my lies

Because these truth and alibis

Leaves me with stray eyes

Yearning to become what I put on

It's all for show

What I reap is what I sow

So why not sow this facade

I love it when I get someone to applaud

All that I am wearing my mask

Hiding behind something is better

than showing my real feelings

Perhaps what is inside of me is afraid to see

the potential within me

I also fail to see the potential in you

If I only look on the outside

I won't be able to understand all of you

I mask myself because I'm not rady for you

To understand all of me

That's all vulnerability

And the spirit of rejection is just too strong right now

I'll play my part and take a bow

I want to vow never to hide again

But it's so easy to pretend to be

Everything you're not

This is how we were taught

It's going to take courage

To stay encouraged

and take myself out of the box

It is time for my detox

Becoming more of me from within

Dumping this mask, where do I begin?




I wrote this poem as I looked at my masks on my shelf. I have a lot of masks for my theatre groups. These masks I own had me reflect about our lives as people. The pressure of what what society wants for our lives can consume how we walk and talk in this world.

What masks have you played in your life?
What were you hiding from?
Do you have a hard time deciding whether or not you should put on that mask ?




Did you know masks were used for celebrations, ceremonies, and rituals? It seems as if we use masks now to protect ourselves from others. Maybe we never felt too safe to become our real selves. There is also that popular saying, 'fake it until you make it' and this could potentially influence us to wear an invisible mask. If we are true to ourselves, we will begin to see there are things we never wanted to become. This is a great thing to see. Once you are able to see the things about yourself you want to improve on, you can begin to build a strong foundation within your identity, and unashamed about who you are as a person. Everyday is a new starting point. You can start again and I can start again. Together with the right support, we will be able to celebrate ourselves without the reliance of having to wear a mask to present pieces of ourselves.


What are your thoughts about masks? Did the poem or reflection speak to you?


I would love to hear from you below! Become a free member and it should open up for you to comment.


Until we meet again,


xoxo LaTi




0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

aboutME

My name is LaTianna Williams. I'm full time Creative Art Therapist who is extremely passionate about fashion & theater arts. Jesus is my truth, and helps me to see the importance of revealing your gifts to the world and provide a voice to the voiceless and hope to those that are in need.

bottom of page